Focus On The Front End

How do you start your day?

Some of the reading I’ve been doing lately has encouraged me to plan carefully how I would spend the first hour or two of my day.

Dan Miller, in 48 Days To The Work You Love, calls this the “Golden Hour”. He encourages you to spend time in Bible reading and meditation as well as physical exercise and positive teaching. This can set the tone for your entire day.

In “Quitter” Jon Acuff talks about hustling on your dream in the morning before your day gets busy.

I enjoyed both these books, but this can be hard for me. 5 o’clock tends to come early, especially with young kids in the house. A few weeks I’ve done alright and been up at 5 o’clock 3 out of 5 days, but I’d like to do better.

Even imagined accountability sometimes helps me stick to a plan, so I’m going to lay out what I plan to do for the next couple of weeks here so that my tens of readers can help me be motivated.

Monday: 5:00-5:30 Bible reading and prayer; 5:30-6:00 Treadmill and Jr. High ministry teaching.

Tuesday: Same as Monday.

Wednesday: 5:00-5:30 Bible reading and prayer; 5:30-6:00 Worship and pray for Salvage Yard.

Thursday: Same as Monday.

Friday: 5:00-6:00 Worship songwriting and practice things that will make me a better worship leader

There is my plan, Monday through Friday for the next few weeks.

What is your morning routine?

Do you think be intentional about the start of your day can help shape your whole day?

2 thoughts on “Focus On The Front End

  1. God put this on my heart a couple of years ago. Used to be, if I had to leave by 7:30, I would be up at 7:20 and out the door. I HATE to get up early. I LOVE my bed! When God called, tho, I had to listen. So, I started slowly..getting up 10 minutes earlier to pray and listen to Him. It wasn’t long before I was getting up at 6:40, ’cause I needed (and wanted) more time with Him. I was getting to 6:15 do do my devotions also before work, but then Dad died. Now, I’m just trying to get back to the 6:40. I’m sure I’ll get to 6:15, since I will keep at it. It’s so important to put God first in everything-time, money, marriage, ministry, even fun.

  2. awesome honey! can try to keep you motivated to your schedule too but it will help if other people do too! 🙂 proud of you honey for your dedication and devotion to what it important to you and even with what is not (like your job), thank you for being a great husband and dad and for your hard work!

What do you think?

