Down Time

We all know that we should take time to get away and relax, but how often do we actually make that a priority?

Summer is busy. When you work in youth ministry it’s crazy. Student don’t have school so we plan more activities with them and try to hang out with them more.

I tend to not take the time to get away and relax that I should. Apparently most jobs don’t give three months off a year and the program that I am in at Multnomah runs year round.

But this weekend I am able to get away with our connect group from church. Camping and just hanging out with friends has been very relaxing and good for me.

Here are the three things I’ve enjoyed most about this weekend:

1-The only thing we have scheduled is meal times. Everything else is just relaxing and hanging out.

2- Sleeping with my wife and two kids in a tent built for two people. Yeah, it was crowded and nobody slept well, but it’s cool to just be close and rest together.

3- Being up to watch the sunrise. I’m usually up in time but I don’t take the time to appreciate the beauty God lays out each morning.

It’s only Saturday and we still have plenty of fun to be had, but already this has been a great trip.

When is the last time you were able to get away, even if it was just for a day?

What is your favorite way to relax?

2 thoughts on “Down Time

  1. The last time I ‘got away’, was actually not away at all. My life is so crazy rite now that I took one of my days off and did nothing but read and watch movies all day. I felt guilty, but really needed it. Reading (for fun-fiction), playing computer games, watching TV or movies help me relax my body and mind.

What do you think?

