Rest In Hope

The zip code of Hope is 04847. I bet you didn’t know that Hope had a postal code.

The population in Hope, Maine was 1,454 in 2009, which was an 11% increase since 2000. I’m sure this small town on the eastern seaboard is a wonderful place to rest.

Psalm 16:9 tells  us that we are to “rest in hope”.

8 I have set the LORD always before me;
Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

9 Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;

My flesh also will rest in hope.

I’m pretty sure, given the likelihood of the writer of Psalms being familiar with the eastern United States, that this verse refers to the town of Hope.

Rather because the Lord is before us and we have His strength we can rest in hope.

Our hope doesn’t come from us having the answers or having everything worked out and sticking to our five year plan but from the assurance we have that God sees and knows what we are facing and that we can turn to His love no matter what our situation looks like.

Today, as you face the worries of life and the cares of today, remember that when you put your hope in God you can find rest.

When is it easiest for you to rest in God?

When can it be the hardest?

2 thoughts on “Rest In Hope

  1. It’s hard to have hope when we’ve been praying for YEARS about a particular subject. I had about given up hope for my mom to come back to the Lord. You are the fourth person that has written (or taught) about hope in the last few days. I think God is telling me somethin’.

    PS: Check out Hope, Alaska on google. population as of 2000: 137 ZIP code: 99605

    Love u, and keep these up! :>

    • I think I’d rather visit Hope, Alaska then Maine. Zip codes are just about opposites aren’t they.

      Maintaining hope throughout an extended trial is tough. Will be praying about Grandma Dailey.

What do you think?

