This Ain’t Made For Hittin’

I played the drums last night for worship at The Salvage Yard.

That in and of itself is not uncommon, but there were a few things that happened which are rare, at best.

It was a (somewhat) dark and (kinda) stormy night in October. There was a chill in the air and it was the time of year that I was reminded that the sunroof on my ’84 Mazda doesn’t always seal and therefor leaks, causing the passenger seat a poor place to keep important papers.

Or unimportant papers for that matter.

But that is neither here nor there, so we’ll continue on.

Drumming for worship is awesome. I kind of a “fly by the seat of your pants” drummer. No lessons, but what I lack in technique I make up for in heart.

We had two songs this week that started with a similar fill, and one of them was a new song. In my head I was worried about starting the song right and because of this I started into the second song, nailing the intro fill.

Only problem was that when I did this we had not yet played the first song. The worship leader had to stop us so that the electric guitar and I could get on the same page. Turns out we do the first song before any of the others.

No worries, I was able nail the intro the second time I started the song as well.

The second interesting thing that happened was during the altar song.

I was getting into it and my sticks were flying about when all of a sudden I hit myself in the back of the ear with my stick.

Hard. It was pretty red afterward and it’s a bit hard to just keep drumming after you beat yourself and are busy wondering if you’re bleeding or if anyone happened to see what just happened.

I don’t think anybody saw, but that didn’t make it hurt any less.

It was a great night worshiping. A nice kick to the pride and stick to the ear, but a great night.

What’s an embarrassing thing  you’ve done on stage during worship?

Have you ever been in the congregation and distracted by something silly you saw on stage?

What do you think?

