Faker

We rocked rehearsal Saturday evening. A full band in all it’s awesomeness. Drums, bass, acoustic guitar, keys and two electrics.

I’m not sure if that much awesome is even allowed in  your church. But we were ready to praise God with the fullest band we’d had in a while.

The Sunday morning sound check/run through went well. We all knew our parts and pieces. I had a couple of intro parts that I was to play on electric and I was ready.

About half way through the first song I realized I couldn’t hear myself in the monitor any more. Weird. I started checking things. Quickly I noticed that the green light on my wireless transmitter didn’t exist.

Dead battery. Awesome. Guess who doesn’t keep a spare battery with his pedal board. This guy.

What do you do when you are no longer contributing to the sound?

I faked it.

I didn’t fake worshiping, I was really worshiping. But unless you were a mouse sitting on the neck of my Tele you couldn’t hear anything I was playing.

During the couple minutes of welcoming people I was weighing my options:

  • Do I just walk off stage and worship with the congregation?
  • Do I set my guitar down, throw my hands up and worship?
  • Do I whisper in the worship pastor’s ear and ask him to tell a joke while go and find a battery?

As we started in “All Because of Jesus” I decided that I would just play as if all was going according to plan. I felt pretty safe with David leading from electric and many people not being able to distinguish instruments that well.

The worship set was great. I just felt a little awkward knowing that no human in that room could here what I was playing. Good thing we’re not playing for them huh?

Lesson: Either forgo using the wireless or carry an extra AA in your pocket at all times.

What would you have done in my situation?

3 thoughts on “Faker

  1. I would-and have- done just what you did. Once in a while when I was on the worship team, I would realize that I couldn’t hear myself at all…no monitor, no mic, no nuthin. It’s quite a shock to my pride to hear from someone in the congregation that the worship was “extra special today”. Was it because nobody but me’n’God could hear me? I’m singing my heart out, worshipping just 4 Him. It’s weird that very few people could tell. BTW…carry that extra battery! Love u

  2. I leave a response each time I like a article on a blog or I
    have something to add to the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the passion communicated in the article I looked at. And after this article Faker | Wayne W.. I was actually excited enough to drop a thought 🙂 I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it simply me or does it seem like some of these responses appear like they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on other social sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list every one of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

What do you think?

