Hobbit Year

On Frodo’s thirty-third birthday he received a present from his uncle. A ring that would change his life forever. While I’ve received no such magic ring, I feel like this year is in some ways the beginning of many adventures to come for me.

hobbit year

At the end of 2013 I lost my job. Well, I didn’t loose it. I know right where it is, it’s just that the county didn’t have the funds to continue paying some of us, so it was decided that it would be best if we stopped coming in to work. We’re logical like that.

And so begins my quest. Without a wizard to guide me or a plump gardening friend for a loyal companion for the road. I am thankful for all the support that I do have from family and friends as I face my journey.

I’ve enrolled in classes at Clark College and am pursuing a degree in Graphic and Web Design, and really looking forward to the classes and growing in the area of design. I feel like I can do well and am looking forward to the push and motivation from these courses to grow as a designer and videographer.

I’m not quiet out of the Shire yet though. I’ve applied for unemployment and the Training Benefits program. If I’m approved for the program I will be able to remain on unemployment throughout the degree program at Clark without my benefits running out.

The new “job” of going to school has also opened my schedule up to be more involved at our church and with the launching of a new congregation this coming fall. Something that I’m sure I’ll be writing more about in the future.

As my unexpected journey begins I’m holding on to Romans 12:12. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. I may not know what the years ahead hold, but I’m ready for the adventure that God has laid ahead.

What do you think?

