How Not To Do A Google Hangout

Word on the street (and by “street I mean the interwebs) is that you can have meetings with people who are miles away via Google Hangouts in the comfort of your own home.

Earlier this week I had a chance to sit down with Brady Shearer of Pro Video Announcements and Pro Church Tools for one of these hangouts. I’m grateful for Brady being willing to take some time out of his morning to meet with me.

This was my first attempt at hanging out on Google’s front porch, and I would definitely say that there are a few things I could have done better.

3 Things I Could Have Done Better:

  1. I started a general hang out and then invited the guest. This left the hang out open and a couple of random people dropped in to say hi. In ignoring them so the guest and I could continue our conversation I ended up being ignored and could no longer take part in the conversation.
  2. I had a few questions prepared. However, a few questions only takes a few minutes to ask. If someone is kind enough to take the time to meet with you I would recommend having a clear idea of questions you will ask, and have more questions than you think you’ll need. If you don’t have time to get to all your questions that is fine, at least you’ll be able to keep the conversation moving.
  3. It’s been a few days and I’ve not sent a follow up email. I need to write Brady and thank him for taking the time to meet. He is involved in an area that I am looking at working towards and he was kind enough to answer questions.

I plan to use Google Hangouts more often, and hope that next time I am more prepared. I would like to thank Brady again for taking the time to get together this week.

Have you used Google Hangouts? 

What other tips would you offer to someone getting used to it?

What do you think?

