It’s Pretty Good, But

Back in the day I can’t tell you how many times I rattle canned my bike. It looked different ever summer, even without the money to actually buy a new bike. It’s what we did. We would take off all the important moving parts, sand it down and have at it.

This week my dad brought a new bike for my daughter. She was just about too big for her current bike, but we were going to wait it out till next summer for the upgrade.

The only problem, it was a boys bike. I know we shouldn’t be that picky. But it happened have the word “demon” in the name of the bike and something like “bad side of the world” all over it. Not really what we’re looking for on our six-year-old daughter’s bicycle.

So I did what any dad would do. I got in the minivan and headed out to the Wal-Mart for a couple of rattle cans to transform the demon bike.

The family was watching a movie while I was in the driveway doing my thing.

When I was finished I brought the family out so that they could marvel at my masterpiece.

Annabelle loved it…. except, the wheels are silver. The wheels on her old bike were pink. She sat in the chair with a sad face looking at her new bike.

Next weekend the bike will come apart and she will  have pink wheels. But she can ride her bike tomorrow.

How often do we take what God has done/is doing in our lives and go man, this is great….except?

It can be so easy to focus on what we don’t have or the part of our lives that is tough and not see the greatness of what God is doing for and through us.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 tells us to be thankful in all circumstances yet it is often so easy for us to look beyond what we can be thankful for and focus on our wants.

Is there something you did as a kid that  you now do with your children?

Do you think having a list of things we are thankful for could help to focus our attention where it should be?

What do you think?